Thanks for Calling Me Out

Standard

Do you remember the last time you were “the new kid on the block”?  Maybe you started a new job, moved into a new neighborhood or joined a new club or organization.  Even as an adult, you experience that weird combination of feeling like everyone knows who you are because you are NEW, but feeling invisible (and lonely) at the same time.

Starting a blog and joining the blogging community is a little like this.  You create this presence in cyberspace and pour yourself into it, feeling very NEW and awkward at what you are doing; wondering if anyone knows you’re there or cares.

I’ve only been writing here for seven months.  A variety of readers have stopped by and some have been repeat visitors, which is so encouraging!  But I felt like the new girl at school being invited to join a group eating together in the lunchroom when I was recognized by a fellow blogger, Maddie Cochere, of Breezy Books.  Maddie nominated me for one of her blogging awards, The Versatile Blogger.

versatileblogger

I’ve learned a lot about blogging by reading her blog as well as some others.  One of the nicest things about the bloggers I’ve come across on WordPress is that they “call each other out”, but in a complimentary way.  They link to other bloggers, which encourages the reader to go check out that person as well.  They help each other, encourage each other and basically treat each other the way we should treat anyone who is new to our community.

So I want to thank Maddie for “calling me out” on her blog!   It made my day.  Now my job is to share 7 things about myself, so here they are:

I love to laugh and am the first to admit my sense of humor is a little “off”.

I like to sing.  My car is my studio.

I am an avid reader – four eyes would be so helpful!

I like to bake sweet things and then share them with others so I don’t eat them all myself.

I enjoy watching college basketball (which I am doing as I write this).

Those terrible commercials with the pets behind bars, unadopted, about to be put down, make me cry.

I love a who-done-it, action packed, murder mystery movie.

In addition, I’m supposed to nominate 15 other bloggers for this award.  I have to ask forgiveness on this one because I don’t have enough time to read 15 other bloggers!

I think that will be my goal for this year – work on getting to know 15 new people through their writing and making a point to “call them out” here – doing my part to help build the community.

2 responses »

  1. Connie, so glad you wrote this post. I love your seven things! I can relate to all of them except the college baseketball, but if I sat down with you I would enjoy watching the game. I used to be a huge Cleveland Cavaliers fan. And those dog commercials make me cry, too. Even my husband gets misty, and one of us runs to change the channel or hit the mute button. 🙂

Leave a Reply

