Cut First; Apologize if Needed

Standard

Two of the best days of the year are the first Saturday in December – wreath making day- and the day before – greenery cutting day.

For the past twenty years, my dear friend and I have jumped in a car with an assortment of clippers and bags and headed out of town to the woods.  Since neither of us owns any woods, we borrow other people’s woods.  Vacant lots, abandoned homesteads, old graveyards not “attached” to a church; we spend the year looking for the best spots possible.  We cut first, prepared to apologize to an owner if needed.  And we have had to apologize a couple of times.  At least we haven’t been shot for trespassing, yet.

For the past few years, we’ve hit the jackpot in a 150 acre spot close to my house that’s up for sale.  Road cut thru 1

Pine and overgrown English boxwood are right there for the cutting.  This year we also stopped by a local business that has closed, leaving some very nice cedar and juniper in need of one of our trims.

We cut greenery, pick up pine cones and discuss all the important issues of the day (which could be as deep as what we will eat the next day at lunch).  We jam the car with filled bags until it looks like the Grinch’s sled leaving Whoville.  I love to breathe in the fragrance of cedar and pine as we head back to her house.  Then everything is unloaded and laid out in an unorganized fashion on her patio awaiting Saturday.  Prep on the patio 1

When I arrive the next morning, I unload boxes and bags of “stuff” – forms, wire, clippers and all kinds of things to add to the greenery.  My supply goes next to her supply in the family room. There are natural additions, like dried hydrangea.  Last year I had dried okra pods and cotton I had picked on the way home from the beach.  There are also fake additions, sparkly and colorful items that add a little glitz.  We have a tendency to go over the top.  Maybe that’s a southern thing, like big hair.

Fresh coffee is poured and the creativity begins to flow.  We have two requirements:  share advice and materials freely and praise all efforts.  We are very big on admiring our own work.

My friend is a Pinterest addict, so we now have her Ipad close at hand, in case we need inspiration.  This year, the wreath I made for my office was a “use what I had on hand” version of something she found and emailed to me.  office wreath

Hours later, as the sun begins to go down, we clean up the incredible mess we’ve made.  No matter how hard we try to clean as we go, that approach is usually abandoned early on.  We talk about our fabulous creative skills and praise ourselves for another successful start to the Christmas season.  We split up what’s left to be used in the coming days.

I carry those same bags and boxes back to my car.  Then I carefully load my completed projects and head for home.

The first thing I do when I get there is hang the wreath on the front door.  wreath w bronze and silver

My husband knows to give his full attention to this process and then GUSH about great it looks.  (This is what 20 years of training has accomplished.)  Then he suggests we go out to eat or at least get take out because he knows I am way too tired to cook.

What a great two days!  I can’t imagine starting the holiday season any other way.

What do you do to jump start your holidays and with whom do you do it?

One response »

  1. What a wonderful friend you have, Connie. I enjoyed reading about your fun excursion and creative day. Both wreaths you’ve shown are beautiful. Your husband is a gem to understand how special this day is to you – and then take you out to eat. 🙂

Leave a Reply

