Give and Receive

Standard

To celebrate Thanksgiving, I decided to do something nice and unexpected for someone.  I had about a 35 minute drive to my family gathering, so I stopped at the local Sheetz (convenience store) to buy a coffee for the road.  I took my travel mug in, as I usually do, and filled it up, then made my way to the register to pay.  When I stepped up to the next open clerk, she asked me if it was just a coffee refill.  “Yes,” I said as I handed her my Sheetz loyalty card to scan.  “But, I would like to buy you a cup of coffee or a soft drink for Thanksgiving.” 

She looked at me a moment, then gave me a very nice smile and said, “Thank you, hon!  But we get free drinks here.  That is so nice of you though, thank you.” 

I must admit, I was a bit disappointed.  She finished ringing up my coffee then looked at my loyalty points total and said, “You’ve earned a free coffee.  Would you like that now?”

We both chuckled at this little turn of events.  I thanked her, took my cup of coffee that I didn’t have to pay for and we traded “Happy Thanksgiving” wishes as I headed out the door.  Even though it didn’t pan out, I still enjoyed making the offer.  It was a good start to the day.

 

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

