Funny How a Melody Sounds Like a Memory

Standard

On Tuesday this week, the Daily Prompt came out:  Take a line from a song that you love or connect with. Turn that line into the title of your post.

This was a perfect prompt for me, but I have not been able to set finger to keyboard all week.  I have been suffering from my own stupidity.  Last Saturday I worked in the yard most of the day.  The weather was fabulous – no humidity, sunny, about 60.  I cut down grasses and weeds and packed it all into leaf bags.  I was so excited about the beautiful weather that I was in a short sleeved t-shirt.  And what was I bundling without thinking?  The now leafless poison ivy.

poison ivy

Evil Weed!

I have been terribly allergic to this stuff since I was born.  I cannot believe I did this to myself.  I have spent the entire week trying not to scratch myself into oblivion.  All I want to do is take my arms off and hang them up somewhere until it goes away.  Today is the first day I’ve been able to think of anything other than how much I itch.

So I’m late…way late…but I’m writing it anyway.  I love music*.  I believe there is a song lyric for most every event in life and I have been known to break in to song at both appropriate and inappropriate times.  When I re-read the prompt , my mind began dancing with all the possibilities.

I had to start with the obvious, given my situation:  “Poison Ivy, poison ivy…” by the Coasters.  Then I remembered our Thanksgiving 2004 trip to Hawaii.  My husband and I were taking a Thanksgiving evening dinner cruise with friends.  We were all on the top level of the boat, enjoying drinks before the meal.  A local musician was on the lower level, playing and singing.  My husband and one of our friends left the table and disappeared down the steps.  Suddenly I heard the musician say, “Happy Thanksgiving, Connie.  Here’s a little something just for you.”  And he began to play and sing one of my husband’s favorite songs:  “I’ve got sunshine, on a cloudy day.  When it’s cold outside, I’ve got the month of May.  I guess you say, what can make me feel this way?  My girl.”

Wandering around the song lyrics in my head, I realized once again how many tunes and lyrics are attached to the events in our lives.  Most of us can remember every word of our favorite songs from high school and college days.  We remember the songs that romanced our lovers and calmed our babies.  We laugh and we cry.  It’s “Funny how a melody sounds like a memory.” **

* check out the O’Jays if you don’t know this song

** Springsteen, Eric Church

 

4 responses »

  1. Grandma’s Lye Soap can be used to scrub the oil off your skin, even after the rash starts breaking out, and the itch will stop as soon as the urushiol has been removed. It is a gentle soap made in Oklahoma and contains no additives. For more information see: How to Stop Colds, Allergies & More.

  2. This is so true. So many times I will hear an “oldie,” and I can think of a place where I may have been, a person I may have been with, or a very specific memory of an event. Music is wonderful like that. … So sorry about your poison ivy.

    • When I finally got around to sitting in WordPress yesterday, I felt like you did with your husband being home – way behind in reading and commenting on the blogs I follow! He, by the way, sounds like a great guy. Gotta love a guy who keeps himself busy with home projects while you are trying to write (or take a nap).

Leave a Reply

