Random Acts of Beauty

Standard

I live within the limits of a small town that is still mostly rural, about 12 miles from where I grew up and where I work.  It’s really the best of both worlds.  I’m close enough to restaurants, entertainment, etc., but my neighborhood is quiet, spacious and dark at night.  There are plenty of wooded areas where I can cut greenery for my Christmas wreaths.  One of my favorite things in the area are the active farms.  I like watching the seasons change based on what is happening to the land.

Driving to work one morning, a pop of color caught my eye and as I looked more closely I saw small circles of white, fuchsia and deep purple peeking through the leaves of the corn plants.  Wild morning glories!  And right now they are  blooming gloriously every morning.  The more I searched, the more I saw.   In some places, the vines are clumped together and it’s easy to see a large splash of  color.  In other spots, the face of the bloom peeks out at you, an unexpected gift.

Morning glories are like happy faces, welcoming the new day.  If you don’t look for them early, you won’t see them in the afternoon.  If you don’t have any, you can sow some seeds.  Toss them with abandon and next year, you’ll enjoy random acts of beauty.

Leave a Reply

