Sharing

Standard

The act of sharing ranks right up there in my list of favorite things.  For the most part, you “win” no matter which end you’re on – the sharing end or the receiving end.  And it tends to spur more of the same.  When my neighbor shared an oversized zucchini with me recently, it resulted in some zucchini bread for both of us.

My dear friend was kind enough to allow me to share (read: unload) my concerns and frustrations with her at lunch last Friday.  Getting all of that stuff out of my head and heart truly lightened my load – a pretty wonderful gift.  And I’m more than willing to do this for someone else because I know how much it means.

Whether you are sharing a plant from your yard or a word of encouragement; whether you are sharing with a friend or doing a random act of kindness for a stranger; sharing can have some amazing results.

So today I’m going to share a simple recipe that someone shared with me.  It’s a new hot weather favorite side dish from Bon Appetit.  Enjoy!

Ingredients

  • 1 15- to 15 1/2-ounce can chickpeas (garbanzo beans), rinsed, drained
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh basil
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh Italian parsley
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 4 teaspoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 small garlic clove, pressed
  • 1/3 cup (packed) freshly grated Parmesan cheese
  • Coarse kosher salt

Preparation

Rinse and drain chickpeas.  Combine with chopped fresh basil, chopped Italian parsley, fresh lemon juice, extra-virgin olive oil, and pressed garlic clove in medium bowl. Add grated Parmesan cheese and toss gently to blend all ingredients thoroughly. Season chickpea salad to taste with coarse kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper. Cover and refrigerate. Serve salad chilled or at room temperature. Can be done ahead!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

