I’m paying attention. Are you?

Standard

Welcome to The Sunny Side, the beginning of a collection of the little, often unappreciated experiences that bring joy to everyday living!

My husband often tells me to focus.  His definition?  Pay attention (mostly me) when someone else is sharing something (mostly him).  He, often in exasperation, will tell me to “smell the roses” (I run around like a headless chicken most of the time).  I cannot say I have made much improvement in the focus area, but I have been paying much more attention to the world around me.  And that has led me to start this blog.

The name is taken directly from a favorite old song, Keep on the Sunny Side, written in 1899 by Ada Blenkhorn and recorded by the Carter family in 1928.  It was introduced to a new generation of listeners in the  movie O Brother, Where Art Thou?

The original lyrics are below and you can enjoy many performed versions on youtube.

There’s a dark and a troubled side of life;
There’s a bright and a sunny side, too;
Tho’ we meet with the darkness and strife,
The sunny side we also may view.

[chorus]
Keep on the sunny side, always on the sunny side,
Keep on the sunny side of life;
It will help us ev’ry day, it will brighten all the way,
If we keep on the sunny side of life.

Tho’ the storm in its fury break today,
Crushing hopes that we cherished so dear,
Storm and cloud will in time pass away,
The sun again will shine bright and clear.

Let us greet with a song of hope each day,
Tho’ the moments be cloudy or fair;
Let us trust in our Savior alway,
Who keepeth everyone in His care.

(thanks to Wikipedia)

Who knows what odd, weird, memorable “something” will we see or hear this week?  I don’t know, but I’m paying attention!  Are you?

One response »

  1. i payed attention to your blog, and now i have the song playing in my head 🙂 thanks its the perfect song for a sunny Friday!

Leave a Reply

